Indian Astrology

Indian Astrology is an antique discipline which is solely based on the understanding gained by our rishis, sages or saints about the astronomical positions of the planetary bodies.  In today’s world, Indian Astrology is recognized as the most influential & practiced astrology worldwide.

The ancestry of this fascinating science goes back into the Vedas times which date back to 1500 BC.  The study of this science (Astrology) is also known as “JyotishShastra.”The indication of astrological traditions is visible in the Atharva-veda which is one amid the holy texts of India. It does rely more on the positions of Navagrahas, the moon, the sun and the constellation and can be thought of as quiet rational in nature, which includes plenty of detailed calculations to get on to suitable astrological predictions and insight. 

This meticulous Indian science is for the most part attention-grabbing, constructive and enlightening to mankind in contributing to the moral and material development. It is a handy instrument for foretelling the future of individuals, countries and all of the happenings depending mainly on the planetary positions. In Sanskrit it is known as Jyotisha or Light.

Branches of Indian Astrology:

Siddhanta – dealing with study of celestial bodies

Samhita – dealing with mundane astrology, earthquakes, floods, rainfull, volcanic eruptions, weather conditions etc

Hora – dealing with predicting the suitable timing of various events in our day to day life 

All the five elements as per the Vedas and Shastras are as follows: 

1. Fire

2. Water 

3. Earth 

4. Air

5. Sky

These are taken into thought while studying a horoscope, along with Constellations and Rashis or Moon sign. The fifth element, sky, is given utmost importance. Ascendant (rising) is the most effective point in anyone’s chart because it signifies ‘self’ and this point (ascendant) are ruled by the sky element.

It has the Moon in the centre. The Moon governs the mind and emotions. The major point of differentiation between western astrological traditions and the Indian Vedic Astrology is the structure of calculations. Indian Vedic astrology is dependent on the computations of 12 lunar constellations from Babylonian calendar and the zodiac is based on 28 constellations or nakshatras.

Planet Transit is another essential tool required to do a dynamic analysis of an individual’s birth chart in Indian Astrology. Planets are in regular movement. They change their position at regular intervals. Some of the planets are fast moving like the Sun (1 month), Mercury (28 days), Mars (28 days) & the ever transiting Moon (2.5 days). Planets like Jupiter (1 year), Saturn (2.5 years) and Rahu & Ketu (1.5 years) are slow moving planets. Indian astrology provides a clear picture of what a person can expect to experience during a planetary transit.

An interesting fact, Ashtakavarga: the Soul of Indian Astrology

Ashtakavarga is an important dimension of Hindu Astrology. Sage Parashar narrated this system of analyzing birth chart to his daughter, Gargi and is the last chapter of “Parashar Hora Shashtra”, where he clearly mentions that Ashtakavarga will be most useful for people during “Kalyug”. It is a highly developed system of studying horoscope, based on the relation between two planetary placements in an individual’s birth chart. It is an efficient instrument in accepting the force of a particular transiting planet.

So the overall essence of the Indian Astrology lies in the deepest knowledge of this splendid and accurate science of astrology, by using which we can predict future and can take precautions before difficulties arise.