Sankranti Calender

Sankranti  signifies \'hallowed changes,\' movement of the Sun from one Rashi (zodiac in Indian crystal gazing) to another. In Hindu timetable there are 12 Sankranti\'s in a year. As per Solar Calendar, followed in the vast majority of the southern Indian states, Sankranti marks the start of a month. While in a few states like Bengal and Orrisa, which take after Solar logbook, it denote the completion of the month. Sankranti days are viewed as useful for philanthropy, while all promising functions are maintained a strategic distance from upon the arrival of Sankranti. Among the 12 Sankranti\'s, Makar Sankranti is the most noteworthy one and it is watched all through India.

Sankranti days are considered good for charity activities and all auspicious ceremonies are avoided on the day of Sankranti

The Twelve Sankranti

Makar SankrantI

Kumbh Sankranti

Meena Sankranti

Mesha sankranti

Vrishabha sankranti

Mithuna sankranti

Karka sankranti

Singh sankranti

Kanya sankranti

Tula sankranti

Vrishika sankranti

Dhanu sankranti

14           January                (Saturday)           Pongal, Makar Sankranti

12           February              (Sunday)              Kumbha Sankranti

14           March   (Tuesday)            Meena Sankranti

14           April       (Friday)                Solar New Year, Mesha Sankranti

14           May       (Sunday)              Vrishabha Sankranti

15           June      (Thursday)          Mithuna Sankranti

16           July        (Sunday)              Karka Sankranti

17           August  (Thursday)          Simha Sankranti

17           September         (Sunday)              Kanya Sankranti, Vishwakarma Puja

17           October               (Tuesday)            Tula Sankranti

16           November          (Thursday)          Vrischika Sankranti


16           December           (Saturday)           Dhanu Sankranti